So me in a nutshell?

The first thing you need to know about me, I could probably fit in a nutshell. 

Haha. All kidding aside, I’m a student in the MLIS program with the goal of becoming a librarian. I don’t really know what type of librarian yet, only that I want to work in the public library system.

I have never blogged before so bear with me, I don’t know what I’m doing or what I should talk about. I (obviously) love to read! I have been a fairly obsessive reader since I was a child. I usually get lost in the book and have to finish it before I can do anything else. The first time I read War and Peace, I read it in like four days. It would have been faster if I wasn’t also going to work. So, I try not to read anything too large when I have important things going on (like school). My favourite type of book to read is mystery or anything set in 19th century Russia. I enjoy the classics (with Tolstoy and Dostoevsky) but also authors like Boris Akunin. In fact the most recent book I’ve reread was The Winter Queen by him, which is a historical mystery set in the late 19th century. It’s part of a series of books staring the detective Erast Fandorin.  So I’ll probably blog a review of it soon.

The Winter Queen Cover

Another very important thing to note about me is that I love sports. All sports, professional, amateur, what my brother likes to call games, if it’s a competitive activity I will watch it. Well, any sport except SOCCER. But that maybe because I have a persistent need to route against the top dog. So I’ll probably end up ranting about something sports related (ex. the total bias shown against the Raptors by the NBA and its officials that was blatantly obvious in the Sacramento game last week). But as this is a LIS blog I’ll keep that to a minimum.

I am currently working at a small town public library as a circulation assistant. So, I’ll probably also write about things that happen to me there. Small towns tend to get some interesting characters, so get ready for some “unique” stories.

Well that’s a little about me and what I’m about, tune in later for some hopefully entertaining updates. Bye!

Leave a Reply

